American Civil War

The American Civil War was an internal conflict that took place within the United States from 1861 to 1865. The Union (United States) faced secessionists in eleven southern states that came together to form the Confederate States of America.

 The Union won this war, which is still considered the bloodiest in the history of the United States.

In January 1861, out of 34 US states, seven southern slave states declared their secession from the United States and formed the Confederacy.

 The war broke out on April 12, 1861, when secessionists attacked United States forts, including Fort Sumter in Charleston, South Carolina.

 The confederation expanded to include eleven additional states.

 It claimed two border states (Kentucky and Missouri), and the Indian Territories and southern portions of the western territories of Arizona and New Mexico joined the Confederacy, becoming the Arizona Confederacy.

 The Confederacy was not diplomatically recognized by the United States government, nor was it recognized by any foreign country (although some countries, such as Britain and France, recognized it as a belligerent power). 

States that remained loyal included the border states where slavery was legal, known as the Union or the North.

 In the spring of 1865 the war ended with the surrender of all Confederate armies and the dissolution of the Confederate government.

The war had its origins in the partisan issue of slavery, especially the expansion of slavery into Western territories. 

Four years of intense fighting left between 620,000 and 750,000 soldiers dead, which was higher than the number of US Army deaths during the entire First and Second World Wars, and destroyed large parts of the South's infrastructure. 

The Confederacy collapsed and 4 million slaves were freed (most of them from Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation). 

The Reconstruction Era (1863-1877) followed the war, with the process of restoring national unity, strengthening the national government, and granting civil rights to freed slaves throughout the country.

The American Civil War was a significant conflict that took place from 1861 to 1865.

 It was fought between the Northern states, known as the Union, and the Southern states, known as the Confederacy. Here's a brief overview of the key events:

1. Secession: The conflict began when several Southern states, primarily motivated by the issue of slavery, seceded from the Union and formed the Confederate States of America.

2. Fort Sumter: In April 1861, Confederate forces attacked Fort Sumter in South Carolina, marking the start of the war. 

This event led to the mobilization of both Union and Confederate armies.

3. Battle of Gettysburg: Fought in July 1863, this battle was a turning point in the war. 

The Union Army successfully defended against Confederate forces, halting their advance into Northern territory.

4. Emancipation Proclamation: In 1862, President Abraham Lincoln issued the Emancipation Proclamation, declaring that all slaves in Confederate-held territory were to be freed. 

This shifted the focus of the war to include the abolition of slavery.

5. Sherman's March to the Sea: In 1864, Union General William T. Sherman led a devastating campaign through Georgia, destroying Confederate infrastructure and resources.

 This significantly weakened the Confederacy.

6. Appomattox Court House: On April 9, 1865, Confederate General Robert E. 

Lee surrendered to Union General Ulysses S. Grant at Appomattox Court House in Virginia. This marked the end of the war.

The American Civil War resulted in the preservation of the Union and the abolition of slavery.

 It had a profound impact on the nation's history, politics, and social fabric.




* The email will not be published on the website.